Tag Archives: books

Fifty Gigs In A Day 2019 raises over £350 for Nordoff Robbins

Fifty Gigs In A Day 2019 raised £353 for the Nordoff Robbins charity, as well as raising awareness of the work they do in music therapy.

The money raised was as follows –

£177 = Dandelion Charm played a free gig at the Brunswick, Hove supported by Milton Hide

£76 = my Facebook birthday post

£23 = eBay auctions (Ninebarrow CDs)

£40 = book launch for ‘The End of Magic by Mark Stay

£37 = JustGiving from generous FM & Thunder fans

A MASSIVE thank you to all the bands, artists, author & comedians who took part; those who generously donated either via Facebook, JustGiving or at an event and anyone who shared or liked a post on social media.

That is over £500 raised for Nordoff Robbins in the two years Fifty Gigs In A Day has been running and as it is such a success I am planning to do it again next year 🙂


Fifty Gigs In A Day 2019 – MARK STAY book launch for ‘The End of Magic’

Facebook event page

Friday, February 15, 2019 at 6:30 PM – 8 PM at Harbour Books, 21 Harbour Street, CT5 1AQ Whitstable

A very exciting event indeed! On the 15th February we’ll be celebrating the publication of ‘The End of Magic’ by Mark Stay! We’ve been expanding our sci-fi and fantasy section in the last year or so, and with this we’ve seen new faces, found some fabulous new titles, and now we get to host our first fantasy event with a fantastic author!

You know the drill, right? But this time we’re switching it up a little bit, because The End of Magic takes you back to a time when magic collapsed, and to celebrate this book the right way we’re encouraging all guests to give it their best shot and get into their magic-inspired costumes! Mark himself will be greeted by a special visitor (which you will not want to miss), and for every copy purchased on the night Mark will be donating £1 to Nordoff Robbins – a brilliant charity changing lives through music. We’ll be kicking off the evening at 6.30pm, and it’s all completely free as always! Be there, be in costume, and be ready for a truly magical evening!

‘There are epic fantasies where magic is a thing of the past, spoken of in hushed tones until some kid pulls a sword from a stone and it all kicks off again…

This is not one of those stories.

The End of Magic will take you back to a time when magic collapsed, when the world went mad, chaos reigned, and we’ll get to see it through the eyes of three people who have everything to lose…

Sander Bree is a royal mage. The personification of privilege, he lives a cushy life advising the king on matters of court and politics, yet still finds plenty of time to complain that he’s stuck in a rut.

Rosheen Katell is an immigrant freelancer and, with Anzu her griffin, she’s worked hard to build a reputation as a trustworthy truth seer. She never lies, never kills.

Oskar is Rosheen’s younger brother. Mute from birth he is a moonchild. Alone and vulnerable, he will endure more change than anyone.

Both Sander and Rosheen are entirely dependent on magic. The source of their power is the Lapis Moon in orbit above. Very soon, that magic will be gone, changing their lives and their world forever.

Sander must keep a promise that would have been difficult enough with magic, but is a suicide mission without it. Rosheen is forced to side with a murderous warlord, and her once-solid principles are tested and found wanting. Oskar needs to survive unthinkable terror and find his sister. All are set against one another in a war unlike anything the world has seen before.

The End of Magic is an exhilarating wild ride, by turns epic and intimate, funny and dark, and perfect for fans of Jen Williams, Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch.’

Signed Tom Bromley books for charity

Thanks to author Tom Bromley there are three signed books of his raising funds for CLAPA and the NDCS:

‘Wired for Sound: Now That’s What I Call An 80’s Music Childhood’ bid here

‘All In The Best Possible Taste: Growing Up Watching Telly In The 80’s’ bid here

tbro

The third book on one hit wonders will be online soon. Having read all  three books I can highly recommend them, so you get a great read plus you help a charity at the same time. Thanks again to Tom Bromley and do pop along to his website http://www.tombromley.co.uk/

I am also working on getting signed items for the Stoke City £150 fundraising (to tie0in with the club’s 150th anniversary) for the two charities. I am aiming to raise £150 for CLAPA & the NDCS through these signed Stoke City related items. Any contacts for Stoke players past and present gratefully received.