NINEBARROW May newsletter

It’s been an incredibly exciting few months since we last contacted you. Huge thanks if you’ve managed to catch us over the last few weeks. We’ve had a string of wonderful rural touring shows – all sold out thanks to you and the wonderful promoters that have been working so hard behind the scenes.

And you might be aware we also managed to win BEST DUO in the Folking.com awards. Thanks so much if you managed to find the time to vote for us. Being a public vote, it almost feels more special than some of the other awards we’ve been up for in the past – without the support of people like you, we just wouldn’t be able to achieve this stuff, so we really are truly grateful! 😊

And finally…we’re still recovering from a superb ‘double choir’ concert which we held down in Poole on Saturday. We were joined from far and wide – with people even coming all the way from Wales to see the show.  It really was a corker too!! We’ve got two more choir concerts coming up this summer – so do take a look at the gig list if you’re interested in catching one of those! 


The Ninebarrow Band is born! 

So THIS is very exciting indeed. We’ve had this one under wraps for a little while now, but we’re so excited to announce that on September 14th this year, we’ll be having the first ever Ninebarrow Band concert at the Towngate Theatre at Lighthouse Poole. With John Parker on double bass, Evan Carson on percussion and Lee MacKenzie on cello, this is going to be something rather special. We thought maybe you’d like to have a look at a wee snippet from our first rehearsal a few weeks ago. It’s a little clip of For A Time – our song about the ‘lost’ village of Tyneham. 



Poole Lighthouse is the same venue where we had our album launch last year, and it was such a wonderful evening – an amazing theatre and a full lighting show to accompany the band. We just thought it’d be fantastic to do it again and have the opportunity to not only recreate some album arrangements from over the last 6 years, but also come up with some totally new song arrangements as well.



Tickets have literally just gone on sale for this. We do understand that the south coast is quite a distance for many of the people on this mailing list, but we were delighted that so many of you were able to make it down to the album launch last year, and we can promise you – this is going to be even better. 😎 Click below for details! 



New dates announced!
 
And of course – we’ve just announced a raft of new duo dates elsewhere around the country too – and it’d be lovely to see you out and about sometime soon! Check out the map on the top right and, as always, find all our upcoming dates over at www.ninebarrow.co.uk/gigs.

Until next time!


All the best,

Upcoming Shows




Wed 15 May 2019
Ely Folk Club

Thu 16 May 2019
St Peter’s Church, 
Dunchurch

Fri 17 May 2019    
The Ram Club    
Thames Ditton

Sat 18 May 2019    
St Andrew’s Church, 
Letcombe Regis

Wed 22 May 2019    
Cottingham Live
Hull

Thu 23 May 2019
The Place Theatre
Bedford

Fri and Sat 25 May 2019
Ireby Festival 2019

Sun 26 May 2019    
Chester Folk Festival 2019
Chester

Fri 07 Jun 2019    
St Michael the Archangel    
Chagford

Sat 08 Jun 2019
Bickerton Village Hall
Cheshire

Sun 09 Jun 2019    
Wimborne Minster Folk Festival 2019

Fri 14 Jun 2019    
St George the Martyr Church
Milton Keynes

Sat 15 Jun 2019    
St John the Baptist Church
Stanton-St-John, Oxford

Sun 16 Jun 2019
NINEBARROW CHOIR CONCERT
Crediton Congregational Church

Thu 20 Jun 2019    
The Atkinson    
Southport

Fri 21 Jun 2019    
St Andrews United Reformed Church
Sheffield

Sat 06 Jul 2019    
Kimpton Folk Festival 2019
Hitchin

Sat 13 Jul 2019    
NINEBARROW CHOIR CONCERT
St John’s Church, Totnes

Sun 21 Jul 2019    
BBQ CONCERT
Manor Green, Cossington    

Fri 9th Aug 2019
St John the Baptist, Horrabridge
Devon

Fri 16th August
Broadstairs Folk Week

Sat 17th Aug 2019
Moira Furnace Folk Festival

Sat 14th September
LIGHTHOUSE POOLE BAND CONCERT
Dorset

Tues 17th Sep 2019
Wurzel Bush Folk Club
Coventry

Wed 18th Sep 2019
Ripon International Festival
Ripon

Thu 19th Sep 2019
Rolleston Village Hall
Newark

Fri 20th Sep 2019
Harwell Village Hall
Abingdon

Sat 21st Sep 2019
Peopleton Village Hall
Worcestershire

Fri 27th Sep 2019
St Mark’s Church
Croydon

Sat 28th Sep 2019
Chard Church
Somerset


For more info on these gigs and many more see the gigs page on our website.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s